New Year

So the new school year is upon us. So much has to be done in our student parliament and already we’re bombarded with event-planning.

What this means is that I have to step outside of my comfort zone, take initiative, and do things based on my own discretion of what’s a good or bad idea. That’s scary. I’ve always looked to others for approval. Now, faced with such decisions, I have to face judgement from others and must gain confidence in myself.

Looking back on four years ago, ‘freshman’ year, already I know I’ve changed so much, so drastically. I’ve still a lot of my flaws, but I can control them. After all, I cannot eliminate the faults that make me who I am, or I would be nothing but a boring robot.

As our daring and fabulous Marilyn Monroe once said, “Imperfection is beauty, madness is genius and it’s better to be absolutely ridiculous than absolutely boring.”

Luckily I’ve surrounded myself with the right people. I have support on all sides from my friends. Though some couldn’t care any less about student council, they care about my well-being. I am forever grateful for that.

Leave a Reply

