Clean

I never expected

that after so many nights of

sleep, jolt, sleep, wake, sleep,

alone…

that I’d ever have

a warm bed.

I never expected

that after so many nights of

“remember when”s –

but not too many of those –

that I’d ever

forget.

I never expected

that after so many nights

of laying in paralyzing chill

I’d be able to,

at least sometimes,

lay naked.

I never expected

that after so many nights

of lakes bathing my face

I’d ever get to

swim in

clean water.

Leave a Reply

