An Instant

I first saw her as she was walking with her friend. She wasn’t elegant or graceful. She wasn’t some hovering angel that glowed. But she took my breath away, and I couldn’t tell you quite what that means.

She was bending over to scratch her knee as she walked. She was also in the middle of a sentence. I had headphones on so I couldn’t hear what she had to say, couldn’t figure out what she was interested in, what she liked, or what she believed in. But I still knew, if I had heard her, even if she was making dinner reservations, it would take my breath away. And I couldn’t tell you quite what that means.

She was gone in an instant – the romanticized version of a few seconds. I was working on my laptop, so she was only in my sight for a short time. But i remember her grey leggings, her bushy brown hair pulled back in a ponytail, her black, loose jacket, and her Adidas sneakers. I remember it all, and I couldn’t tell you quite what that means.

Leave a Reply

